Macricostas School of Arts & Sciences

English Department

Meet the Faculty of the Department of English

Full-Time Faculty

Michael J. Chappell
Ph.D., Fordham University
Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 210D

Office Hours Spring 2019:

Monday: 11:00-12:00, 3:30-4:30

Wednesday: 10:00-11:00

Thursday: 11:00-12:00

Phone: 203-837-9366
Email: chappellm@wcsu.edu


Anam K. Govardhan
Ph.D., Madras University, India
Ph.D., Northern Illinois University
Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 210A

Office Hours Spring 2019:

Tuesday: 9:00-11:00

Wednesday: 9:00-10:00

Thursday: 9:00-11:00

And by appointment

Phone: 203-837-9247
Email: govardhana@wcsu.edu


Heather Levy
Ph.D., Binghamton University
Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 212D

Office Hours Spring 2019:

Monday: 8:30-9:30, 2:30-3:30

Tuesday: 8:30-9:30

Wednesday: 8:30-9:30

Thursday: 8:30-9:30

Phone: 203-837-3272
Email: levyh@wcsu.edu


Margaret P. Murray
Ph.D., New York University
Professor of English
Faculty Advisor to the English Society and English Honor Society

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 212B

Office Hours Spring 2019:

Monday: 7:55-9:25, 4:30-5:30

Wednesday: 10:00-11:00

Thursday: 7:55-9:25

And by appointment

Phone: 203-837-9120
Email: murraym@wcsu.edu


Ingrid Pruss
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Associate Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 225

Office Hours Spring 2019:

Tuesday: 11:20-12:25, 3:20-4:00

Wednesday: 7:30-9:30

Friday: 11:20-12:25

Phone: 203-837-9071
Email: prussi@wcsu.edu


Shouhua Qi
Ph.D., Illinois State University
Department Chairperson
Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 210F

Office Hours Spring 2019:

Tuesday: 10:50-12:50

Wednesday: 1st Wednesday of the month, 1:00-2:00

Thursday: 2nd, 3rd and 4th Thursday of the month, 11:00-12:00

Friday: 10:50-12:50

And by appointment

Phone: 203-837-9048
Email: qis@wcsu.edu
Website: https://sites.wcsu.edu/qis/


Çiğdem Üsekes
Ph.D., University of North Dakota
Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 210E

Office Hours Spring 2019:

Tuesday: 12:30-2:30

Wednesday: 3:00-5:00

Friday: 12:30-1:30

Phone: 203-837-9329
Email: usekesc@wcsu.edu


Joint Appointment

Donald P. Gagnon
Ph.D., University of South Florida
Professor of English

Office: VPAC 247

Office Hours Spring 2019:

ENG 107: M/W 8:00-9:30 in VPAC 247

ENG 214: M/R 2:00-3:00, 5:00-6:00 in WH 324

AS/HON 298: W 2:15-3:45 and 6:00-7:00 every other week in WH 324

And by appointment

Phone: 203-837-9062
Email: gagnond@wcsu.edu


Adjunct Faculty

Hamid El Khalfi
Email: elkhalfih@wcsu.edu

 

Adeline Merrill
Email: merrilla@wcsu.edu 

 

Robin Provey
Email: proveyr@wcsu.edu

 

Danielle Troetti
Email: troettid@wcsu.edu


Faculty Emeriti

Baubles, Raymond, Ph.D., Professor, English

Conley, W. Ranson, Ph.D., Professor, English

Dow, Janet, M.A., Professor, English

Jambeck, Karen, Ph.D., Professor, English

Knapp, Elise, Ph.D., Professor, English

Lyman, Jane B., M.F.A., Professor, English

Skorina, Violet, Ph.D., Associate Professor, English

Sullivan, Margaret, Professor, English